My origins are nearly completely conservative. Think of every type of conservative you can imagine, and the probability of them being a member of my family is almost a guaranteed 100%. The entire credit of my existence is owed to the loins of an all American, whiskey drinking, gunslinger who had a legitimate concern over his guns being taken away by Obama back in ’08. One set of grandparents are faithful, God-fearing, Jesus loving Christians who attend church every Sunday like clockwork. My other set of grandparents are straight backwoods, wood-stove burning, out in the boondocks, rednecks. My grandmother, who has since passed, didn’t see any major city until her mid 20’s when she saw Indianapolis for the first time. I come from a mostly conservative town, in a mostly conservative state, in a mostly conservative region of the country. So how in the hell did I end up a liberal?

cjones10132015

I receive many comments and private messages in reference to both my blog posts and social media accounts. Most of the time people aren’t rude or demeaning, but are looking for an engaging debate which I am usually almost always down for. However, after my blog post of The Ultimate Reason I Refuse To Vote Trump was published, I received a private, anonymous message that I still cannot stop thinking about: “Your baby will be a liberal, tree-hugging, douche like you.” My initial reaction was to hunt this guy (or girl) down and instill a fear into him that he would remember to his grave for attempting to insult my innocent baby, but then I realized that comment wasn’t insulting to me at all even though it was intended to be. All of this really got me to thinking about how I ended up on the left when originally most of my family’s values are embedded from the right.

According to this article, the public school system is to blame.

“Even now, too few conservative parents realize how radical – and effective – the university agenda is. They are proud that their child has been accepted into whatever college he or she attends, not realizing that, values-wise, they are actually playing Russian roulette, except that only one chamber in the gun is not loaded with a bullet.

And then the child comes home, often after only a year at college, a different person, values-wise, from the one whom the naive parent so proudly sent off just a year earlier.”

There is absolutely no debate that the more educated population lean to the left where those with less education lean right. I have more education than those of my family I mentioned, but I started to have a much different political stance much earlier than college, and even earlier than high school. There is also no debate that far more conservatives value more religious principles than liberals, yet I was exposed to Christianity. My great-grandfather is a preacher, we would all pray before meals at big family gatherings. I went to Sunday school as a child, and I have read The Bible cover to cover twice, but here I am, as left-winged as ever.

I don’t think I have polarized to a leftist extremist, but the majority of my values and beliefs coincide with with that of the progressive liberal agenda. I still don’t know exactly why I ended up a liberal in spite of my upbringing, but I think I have some ideas.

A conservative is believing in the value of established and traditional practices in politics and society; not liking or accepting changes or new ideas. I am the absolute opposite of the latter of that definition. As society progresses, it is important that the body that governs that society evolves to reflect the mass progression. I am a millennial through and through, and while my generation may have received too many participation trophies (future post to come), we are the most open-minded and accepting generation this nation has ever witnessed. Perhaps I interpreted my readings of The Bible much differently than my conservative counterparts. My interpretation was and still is based on love, equal opportunity, and empathy.

Galatians 5:14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

1 Corinthians 10:33 Even as I please all men in all things, not seeking mine own profit, but the profit of many, that they may be saved.

Romans 12:15 Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep.

I never have viewed anything in a strict black and white format. For me, there is and always will be gray. Both the interpretation of The Constitution and The Bible will change and shift as the morals and values of society evolve.

Conservatism likes to keep things black and white while taking literal interpretations from important documents like The Constitution and The Bible. If we, as a society kept a literal approach to issues, there would never be any sort of progression. Maybe I ended up being a liberal because I possess more than a high school education, or because I’m a millennial. Maybe I’m a liberal because I believe scientific evidence of evolution and climate change trumps religion. Perhaps I’m a liberal because I believe nitpicking  The Bible to encourage a political stance in a government that functions in a nation of 100% religious freedom is absurd, or because I believe a woman has the right to choose what happens to her own body and that love is love between 2 consenting adults regardless of gender.

So, for the person who said that my baby will end up being a “liberal, tree-hugging douche” like me, I hope to God you’re right.

